If My Life Was A Movie This Would Be The Playlist

 

 

 

Okay like just a warning I listen to kpop so if you don’t listen to it and aren’t a very open person you won’t like this…

 

So after that let’s get into it!

 

*    *    *    *    *    *

 

Stray Kids’ “Hellevator”

Image result for stray kids hellevator

If you are confused about the title, it is the words “Hell” and “Elevator” put together. The song is about teenage depression and how many people feel as if they are at the worst stage of their life. In essence, that they are on the bottom floor, and the only direction being up.

Lyrics:

“My life’s at a rock bottom’s cliff
I’m walking in a dark tunnel
I’m holding up
This cruel, dreadful day alone
Though I reach out my hand, there’s nobody to hold it
They’re going up riding on my pain and tears”

Reason:

I chose this song because even though I don’t have depression I have had depressing episodes where the lyrics of this song pretty much sums up what it’s like. I also chose this song because my generation seems to have A Lot of depression and I think that this song could help a lot of people 😀

 

Seventeen Jun and Minghao’s “My I”

Image result for seventeen my i

About the song:

This song was written by The8 (Minghao) when he was a trainee after coming to Korea from China. He wrote it because he felt that he wasn’t doing well and wanted to quit and go back home. It’s all about how even though you might not be where you want to be now, everyone has a future self that is looking back and is proud of them. Because of this, there are two versions of the song sung in Chinese and Korean: one in the present view and one from the future view. 

Lyrics:

Chinese:                                                                                               Korean:

 

If there is another world,                                                          If there are two earths,

Could you be the other me?                                                    It could be the other me

Getting closer to you step by step                                           If I take a step closer,                 

The ground in front is full of thorns                                         Thorns appear on a flower path

Stretch out your hands, I am there in front of you                  At that time, you reach out a hand to save me

We will meet, don’t yearn for me                                            If I meet you once time passes

I’ll know                                                                                  I’ll know

I am your future                                                                      You were my future

I’ll know                                                                                   I’ll know

You are my past                                                                      I was your yesterday         

 

Reason:

I chose this song because I don’t know in what direction I am heading with my future. I don’t know what I want to do, where I want to go, and all of that fun stuff. This song essentially says that even if you are uncertain about your future that your future self is looking back and is proud of who you are and what you are doing.

 

 

 

 

BTS’ Epiphany

Image result for bts jin epiphany

About the song:

The song is about a person, who after a breakup with someone they thought they loved, realized that it was okay if you aren’t in a relationship, that you should spend time loving yourself first.

 

Lyrics:

I get to fully reveal my true self under the smiling mask

I’m the one I should love in this world

The shining me, the precious soul of mine I realize only now, so I love me

Though I’m not perfect, I’m so beautiful

I’m the one I should love

 

Reason:

I feel like even if I have never been in a relationship before, I need to spend more time focusing on the things I love about myself instead of what I don’t like. This is a song that I think a lot of people should listen to and understand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TXT’s Crown

Image result for txt crown

 

About the song:

This song is about a prince who wakes up one morning with horns on his head. Disgusted by his appearance, he runs away and finds a boy with wings growing out of his back. Together they help each other realize that these features do not control who they are.

 

Lyrics:

 

My body must have gone mad

There’s a horn coming out of my head

What do I do, I don’t know how to stop it

I’m the only bad thing in this world

Save me, maybe I have turned into a monster got no one but you

Who you? Are you my salvation who found me deserted?

Who you? Are your wings the same pain like mine?

There’s a horn riding up on my head, but I love it

You became my crown

 

Reason:

I like this song because it reminds me that even when something doesn’t go as you planned, or when something bad happens, it isn’t the end of the world. There are people just like you who are having trouble and you can support each other.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WayV’s Dream Launch 

Image result for wayv dream launch

(so technically they aren’t a kpop group but whatever)

 

About the song:

This song is all about how they are looking forward to the day that their dream comes true. It talks about how they won’t give up and will keep on working until their dream is real.

 

Lyrics:

Swinging left and right around the universe

I’m still learning how to steer

Launching our dream straight far into outer space

Even if I lose my balance there’s still a smile on my face

Wait for my dream to speed up and get closer to success

 

Reason:

Not only are the lyrics so personal and positive, but the when I listen to it my whole mood seems to become lighter. I like the fact that even though they say they are waiting for their dream, they aren’t staying still. They are going to make their dream come true no mater what. It’s a lesson that I hope imprints into me every time I listen to it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okie dokie well that’s the end. If you felt tortured because it was full of non-English songs, I’m sorry.

Actually no, I’m not sorry they’re awesome songs and you should still listen to them.

 

 

 

Logging out,

The Logophile

trinity college library - dublin dan boss via Compfight

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*